Friday, May 24, 2024

Tuesday, May 21, 2024

M4 iPad Pros

Daring Fireball: "The M4 iPad Pros"

AI Assistants Update

"OpenAI and Google are launching supercharged AI assistants. Here's how you can try them out."

Monday, May 20, 2024

Literal Reframing

How changing the frame changes the look of a picture. (Via Tyler Cowen.)

Smart Home Warning

"How I upgraded my water heater and discovered how bad smart home security can be"

Thursday, May 16, 2024

Wednesday, May 15, 2024

Deceptive AI

"AI Has Already Become a Master of Lies And Deception, Scientists Warn"

Rings Of Power Season 2 Trailer

"The Lord of The Rings: The Rings of Power -- Official Teaser Trailer" (for upcoming Season 2)


Tuesday, May 14, 2024

Caplan On Protests

Bryan Caplain: "The Protest: A Socratic Dialogue"

New Tolkien Movie

"Peter Jackson Working on New Lord of the Rings Films for Warner Bros., Targeting 2026 Debut"

Monday, May 13, 2024

Tuesday, May 07, 2024

Light Posting Notice

Admin note: Posting may be lighter than usual this week due to external obligations.

Monday, May 06, 2024

Friday, May 03, 2024

Questionable AI "Safety" Law

"California's Effort to Strangle AI: On SB 1047, a dangerous attempt at safety". (Via Jason Crawford.)

Bright Laser

"The Tiny Ultrabright Laser That Can Melt Steel"

Thursday, May 02, 2024

Today's Unintended Consequence

"Laws requiring doctors to report a dementia diagnosis to the DMV may backfire"

Autonomous Racing Update

"The first-ever driverless car race didn't go so well"

Wednesday, May 01, 2024

Don't Swallow Magnets

My latest Forbes column is out: "Why You Shouldn't Swallow Magnets".

I discuss who should (or shouldn't) swallow magnets. Hint: If you are reading this, it's not you.

Auto-Brewery Syndrome

"A Brewery Worker's Drunken Driving Defense: His Stomach Made the Alcohol"